Thursday, 14 May 2009


DESTE Prize 2009
Museum of Cycladic Art
14th May – 30th September 2009

The DESTE Prize was established in 1999 and is awarded every two years to a Greek artist living in Greece or abroad. The Prize aims to showcase the work of a new and emerging generation of artists and it is an integral part of the Foundation’s policy for supporting and promoting contemporary art in Greece.

The six shortlisted artists for the DESTE Prize 2009 – Athanasios Argianas, Eirene Efstathiou, Haris Epaminonda, Rallou Panagiotou, Yorgos Sapountzis and Vangelis Vlachos – will show their work in an exhibition that is to be presented this year in the spaces of the Museum of Cycladic Art and is scheduled to run from 14th March until 30th September 2009. This collaboration between the DESTE Foundation and the Museum of Cycladic Art is part of the latter’s “Young Views” program, which aims at launching a dialogue with a younger generation, at keeping the public up to date with the latest developments in contemporary cultural production and at ensuring the dynamic presence of a space for the exchange of ideas.

An international jury of five will select and announce the winner of this year’s DESTE Prize on 14th September 2009. The Prize is accompanied by a grant of €10.000.

No comments:

Post a Comment